Sunday, August 15, 2010

The Grays - Live at the 40 Watt Club

I found it! I've been looking for this rare Grays show in my archives for years and finally found it this weekend. It's from a show from the 40 Watt Club in Athens, Georgia and includes songs culled from "Ro Sham Bo" as well as solo tracks from Buddy Judge and Jason Falkner. There are also covers of "He's Frank" by the Monochrome Set and "Blessed" by Simon and Garfunkel.

A great concert by a great (if short lived) band. Track listing as follows:
  1. Everybody's World
  2. Same Thing
  3. Eloquence
  4. Very Best Years
  5. Oh, Nevermind
  6. He's Frank
  7. Nothing Between Us
  8. Nothing
  9. Not Ready Yet
  10. Both Belong
  11. Is It Now Yet?
  12. My Home Is Not a House
  13. Not Long For This World
  14. Spooky
  15. Blessed

...however now that I have a chance to listen to it again, this show doesn't actually sound that good. If anyone has a better copy, please contact me.

For a better listen, you may also want to download a slightly earlier concert uploaded to this blog (posted in the comments, thanks Jay) back in 2008. It's an audience recording but a pretty clear one.


anythingshouldhappen said...

Can't believe no one's acknowledged this Haper.

So Thanks!!!!!

Jessica from Sweden said...

If you're into Grays, The Wannadies, Jellyfish and those kinds of bands you should really check out The Genuine Fakes from Sweden. They've released two singles to date and the debut album is due out later this year according to other blogs. Their website is It was a long time since I heard a new powerpop band sounding this promising!

Mike said...

I agree with anythingshouldhappen. So THANK YOU!

Haper said...


Thanks for the reminder about the Genuine Fakes. I listened to their EP "Five Audio Commercials" again yesterday and it has some really fine moments. I really like the tracks "Star" and "When Reality Hits You". I'm a little confused about the "new tracks" though. I think most of these came out several years ago....anyway I agree this may be the most promising band playing the Swedish Power Pop sound today!

Anonymous said...

Sweet! Been looking just for this. Thanks!

Kerry Winkler said...

Any chance for a links update? These are dead. Thanks.

ehprh12 said...

Please Re-Up would love to hear this show.